Songwriting and Performance Contest

Blaine Howard Photo_J_Weigel
2016 Songwriting Contest winner, Blaine Howard of Fairchild, WI performs during the contest. (Photo Jerry Weigel).
MichaelMonroe_2015 (12K) 2015 Songwriting Contest winner, Michael Monroe of Grand Marais, MN, performs from the Main State at the Sunday Concert (Photo Jerry Weigel).
DerekOlson_2014_350 (26K) 2014 Songwriting Contest Winner Derek Olson Performs at the Sunday Concert (photo Jerry Weigel)
Aric Sampson) Aric Sampson performs during the Sunday Closing Concert after winning the 2013 Great River Folk Fest Songwriters and Performers Contest earlier in the day.

Casey Yeager and Joe Danielson
2011 winners Casey Yeager and Joe Danielson perform their winning songs.

2016 Winners

1st Place – Blaine Howard - Fairchild, WI
2nd Place – Traci Stinebrink - Rhinelander, WI
3rd Place – Mike Caucutt - La Crosse, WI

About the Contest

(Not updated for 2017)

Twelve finalists will be selected to perform two songs each at the Great River Folk Festival on Sunday. Songwriters will be evaluated on songwriting and performance by a panel of Great River Folk Festival judges.

All entries will receive a free pass to the festival for Sunday. The first place act will receive a cash prize, a day in a recording studio at Grammy Award-winning Sound Strations, and will perform as the opening act on the main stage later Sunday afternoon. Second and Third places will also receive a cash prize.

Sound_Strations (12K)

The twelve finalists will be contacted by e-mail and be listed on the GRFF web site at:

To enter you must submit:

1st Place :

2nd Place:

$ 75 cash

3rd Place:

$ 50 cash

Judging will be calculated by the following criteria:

2016 Contest Entry Form (PDF)
2016 Contest Rules (PDF)

Past Winners